La Casa Inn

We traveled to Anand for our first attempt with IVF and surrogacy in August of 2009.  We chose to stay at La Casa Inn, and overall I’m sure we made the right decision.  I will start with the negatives and leave on a happy note.

First of all, because I am American I compare everything to American standards.  That is afterall what I am used to.  La Casa Inn by American standards isn’t that great, but by Indian standards it is very nice.  I believe we paid for a platinum room.  We were on the 2nd floor.  The room was just not as clean as I would have liked.  The bathrrom looked dirty, and after walking barefoot in the room I had a thick layer of dirt on my feet.  I decided to take a tuktuk to D Mart and buy some cleaning supplies.  I cleaned the sinks, shower, floors, night stands, telephone, and even the doors!  The rags continued to turn brown, so I cleaned until they didn’t!  The hotel staff thought I was insane from the beginning.  I kept asking for more rags, and they saw me cleaning.  I didn’t want to offend them, and they didn’t act offended thankfully.  Honestly, my husband didn’t think the room was dirty and would have never went through the trouble to clean it like I did.  I think I may have been a little dramatic, but then again, I felt much better after cleaning it.  I had more peace of mind just knowing that I sanitized the room to my standards.

Here is the entry way:

Entry Way

Our television didn’t have but one English speaking channel, but after speaking to another American couple next door we found out that the hotel had HBO along with a couple of other really good channels.  The manager had to come up and reprogram our television, and then we were good to go. 

The internet was very important to me, and I made sure to ask if there would be a strong, reliable connection before I booked.  They said there would be.  Haha!  There was a strong connection when it actually worked, which was about half of the time:(  I think that I lost my cool over the internet and made them feel bad.  I was just speaking honestly, but I think I probably should have just let it go more than I did.  Don’t get me wrong… I didn’t cuss them out or anything, but I did call them every single time it went out or wouldn’t work, and my tone quickly became less than sweet.  I think it was just hard to take because they always seemed so casual about it.  Don’t they know how we Americans are dependent on technology and the internet?  Don’t they know that we can go longer without water than hotmail?  Take my bread away, but don’t take away my facebook!  I had a blog to upkeep and people at home were counting on me!!!  This was an emergency, and when I called them at 2:00 am because the internet was down, they probably wondered if I was just checking in on it every ten minutes so I could have a reason to pester them.  One night there ended up being three American couples in the lobby complaining together.  Looking back, I think we looked like a mob.  But I think power is in numbers, because after that night the internet technician changed something that made the internet work.  I didn’t have any problems during my last few days of stay.  So, maybe it works better now.

I don’t really think this matters all that much, but for some reason I could only take hot showers during the day.  The few times I tried to take my shower at night, I froze my hiney off!  My usual ten minute shower was over in 2 minutes! 

The hotel room is in no way sound proof!  We stayed at a nice hotel in Delhi that was by a busy street, and we couldn’t hear a thing.  However, it sounded like the window was open at La Casa.  I was very worried about being able to sleep, but we were surprised to find that we didn’t even notice the horns after the first night.  I think I would have been disturbed if the noise suddenly stopped actually.

Here is the view from the window:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yL1SoROjaF0

Okay, I’m done with the negatives.  We will be going back for our second attempt with Dr. Patel soon, and we will be staying at La Casa again.  So obviously we think they have something to offer.  I didn’t tour the other hotels in town, but several couples moved from Laksh to La Casa while we were in Anand, and they all said that La Casa had bigger and cleaner rooms.

The room was very spacious, and any more space would have just been wasted.  There was an entry way with a closet, a bathroom, and the main living area with the bed, table and chairs, desk, night stands, and television. 

Table, Chairs, and American Food:

Table and Chairs

The hotel staff was very sweet, and no matter how frustrated I got about the internet, they never lost their smile or patience.  If we asked for something, they always tried to make it happen.  They worked hard for our approval, and they were always so respectful.  Actually, I look forward to going back so that I can be as sweet to them. 

Front Desk:

Front Desk

Lobby Computer for Guests:

Doorman:

Doorman

I never ate at the restaurants, so I cannot comment.  The truth is that we got so sick during our first week of traveling around India that we were only interested in eating the food we packed from home by the time we made it to La Casa.  We did have Dominoes delivered to our room a couple of times, which was great!

The hotel also arranged for a car and driver when we needed one.  The price was fair, but their driver burped constantly:) LOL!  Seriously, I kept rolling the window down so that I wasn’t breathing in burp.

Don’t drink the water even after you boil it!  This goes for anywhere in India!!  Look at was was left in the bottom after we boiled tap water:

The Water

Leave a Reply

